Architectwars

I haven’t updated my blog in a while, the reason is because architectwars has begun. As you remember we had put down planks to mark our lot, which gave the house a cut off L-shape, but the first sketch by the architect looked very different from the one we’d planned.

I’m pretty sure I’m not allowed to post her creation online so I wont, but let’s just say it didn’t look like this. The funny thing is that floorplanwise everything was great, the rooms were where they were supposed to be and everything was there, just one problem. Or a few.. The house looked like it could fit into a suburb more than on a remote island, a great looking house but just tinsy winsy too modern, it was too cubic and heavy. The other was that because of the 1/2 upper floor the height in the livingroom would have been about 6m which would have made the house a) hard to warm up and b) it would be seen almost to estonia.

So what I did is that I became an architect over night. I had to try to explain to her what was wrong and what we wanted differently. It started by moving a stair, then a fireplace and then suddenly I had redrawn the whole house. My mum and dad got very worried over the architects’ first drawing (they’ve built a couple of houses during their lifetime) but they love my new one and my boyfriend is overhappy too. So here’s the first view of the villa, made by me:

 

 

 

 

 

And here’s the floorplan:

I must say, I’m very pleased with the result. I used the Punch! Home Design studio pro, very easy to use, takes a while to get the logic with defining the floors etc. but otherwise simple to use. I just sent these over to the architect and hopefully will be able to speak the same language now. Please comment on my house!

One response

  1. Looks nice!! I think it´s a great idea to bend the house a bit, it gets more interesting that way. After all, you are probably going to have it for a long time 🙂

    I´m also definitely more for a house that look´s like it belongs in the archipelago! Modern houses are fine, but they have their own place and I don´t think this is the place for such a house..

Leave a Reply

