Go caveman!

The idea of the caveman diet, or Paleo diet is pretty simple: evolution has gone faster in the food industry than our own evolution. Our bodies haven’t yet learned to process some of the man-made foods out there. Man made foods are for example grains, they’ve been around for thousands of years, but man learned to harvest grains pretty late; we simply can’t handle such concentrated amounts of grains.

For me the diet is very simple because it’s built up by Do eats and Don’t eats.

Do eat: Poultry, meat, seafood, fats/oils, nuts, plenty of fruit and vegetables

Don’t eat: Dairy products, soy, tofu, peanuts, legumes, sugar, potatoes, vegetable oils, grains and cereal.

Always aim to eat grass fed, organic, all-natural, hormone and antibiotic free, wild caught and free range. I would say we are pretty lucky in Finland because our food is very pure compared to many other countries. A good tip is to befriend a hunter and buy game from him/her. I just got my hands on a whole deer, which will keep me going for about two months.

My diet is also based on eating five or six times a day. You will feel like a Hobbit, breakfast, second breakfast, lunch, afternoon snack, dinner, supper etc 😀  In the beginning this feels wierd, when you start it feels like you are stuffing yourself all the time. Give it two weeks and your stomach will be your clock, every three hours mine is reminding me to eat. I try to eat something with fibre content in the morning, like quinoa porridge or gluten free seed based mysli or a smoothie with everything I  can find in my cabinets.

I do not count calories, how ever I do keep a food journal every few months with the help of My Fitness Pal. Counting calories can feel like a chore but thanks to the calorie calculators online and on the myfitnesspal app it’s pretty simple. In theory I should be eating 1400 kcal to lose the weight I intend to lose by end of May, however in reality it’s not that simple. Therefor it’s important to try and calculate your net calories, not just calories. Everything you do burns calories and you need to take into account your basic metabolic rate. I was eating way too little before my trainer checked my food dairy, I was eating a whole meal too little, so now I eat around 1700 kcal every day. The most important is to keep your calorie and carb intake the same from day to day and avoid binges and also eat often and small portions. Speaking of which, it’s time for my 5th meal today!

Leave a Reply

