Day 4 Toughest day yet @ Mallorca training camp

Today I woke up at seven-ish to get ready and met up with Andreas and Ida by their flat which is a block away from Palma Suites. We biked around 10km to a beach were the 13th annual playa de palma sprint triathlon was held. It was so exciting to see the race, we went to the water to see the start and the techniques and Andreas pointed out some good tips and tricks. We also went to see the switches and the techniques they had, it really is crucial to be quick at the switch. We stayed to see the finish which came in at 54min. Andreas rival/friend Christian came in 7th. It was so cute as dads carried their baby kids along across the finish line and one guy pushed his wheelchair bound father in front of him across the line. It was really nice to see the race and the pros who do it for a living. Andreas didn’t enlist in time to be able to compete but he would definately have won 🙂

After the race we then went to the beach to start our own triathlon. We swam around 150 metres, this time it was waves and I missed a few of my breaths and lost my breath, I started feeling a bit quuezy from the waves but after swimming slowly for a while I continued all the way to the end. The point was to practice how to get the wetsuit off easily. We then put our cycling gear on, Andreas showed me the switch and how to start cycling. We cycled at a good pace for 10km and then jumped off and switched to running shoes and went running, also here I got good tips. We ran for a little bit more than a kilometre and then we came back to Ida who was guarding the gear. After having a few sips of water we biked back to Palma the 10km. The scenery was beautiful, we went along the shore the whole way, it was great! I hopped in the shower as I got home and decided to have a hamburger -with salad ofcourse, I was a little bit weak after the tri. I definately need to buy myself a better bike, it is so nice to bike when the bike beneath you is so light and so good, a new cervelo costs muchos dineros so I might try and find a used one from somewhere. Now it’s dinner time at basecamp and tomorrow some more running! Here’s some pics from today!
image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

Leave a Reply

